GIRLS CROSS COUNTRY: Johnson and the pack shine at Medina

Staff Report

Defeating two state-qualifying teams, the Lady Comets cross country runners had an outstanding race Saturday at the Medina Invitational, finishing fourth among 23 Division 1 high schools.

The Amherst junior varsity finished 16th overall.

The Comets had a great race from individual leader Leah Johnson, whose final time of 19:57 placed her 18th in the 185-girl field.

Right behind her was the pack that has become a trademark for Amherst this fall, with Alicia DelValle, Kalyn Potyrala, and Cara Giannuzzi finishing 22nd, 26th, and 27th overall.

Senior Bridgette Wadge ran a career best 21:08 to finish as the Comets’ number five runner, followed closely by freshman Victoria Bailey (21:11) and sophomores Kayla Snowden (21:16) and Emma Kelley (21:22). Also breaking 22 minutes for Amherst were Ashley Hill (21:28), Rachel Williams (21:34), Sydney Walker (21:42), Rachel Szczodrowski (21:50), Camryn Leonard (21:55), and Kailey Reed (21:59). Antonia Monteleone (22:07) and junior Rachel Lasso (22:09) also ran for the Comets in Saturday’s varsity race.

Amherst also had a number of girls participate in the open race at Medina.

Sophomore Emily Johnston (15th, 22:16) and senior Meredith Funderburg (21st, 22:34) both recorded top 25 finishes to lead the Lady Comets. They were followed by Cassidy Hill (39th, 23:01), Marissa Anaya (66th, 23:37), Emily Syrowski (70th, 23:38), Sydnie Card (105th, 24:21), Hannah Gendics (110th, 24:23), Robyn Ruffner (112th, 24:28), Holly Eliopoulos (114th, 24:31), Molly Parker (121st, 24:34), Jenna Kovach (123rd, 24:41), Sophia Volak (137th, 24:55), Rachel Veneman (152nd, 25:18), Karsen Bresnahan (162nd, 25:29), Rain Wales (168th, 25:41), Erin McGuire (172nd, 25:47), Arisa Inouye (175th 25:54), Courtney Cogdell (182nd, 26:08), Hannah Borthwick (198th, 26:40), Allysin Garcia (200th, 26:42), Halle Brosky (236th, 28:37), and Emily McGuire (240th, 28:59).

The Comets’ record now stands at 157 wins and 58 losses. Their next race is at the Southwestern Conference championships, held annually at Lorain County Community College.

Staff Report