Amherst Steele students will Best High School Newscast

Staff Report

The Steele News Live team has earned five Regional Student Production Awards, the most of any high school television unit in a three-state region.

The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences announced that the 20-student Amherst crew has won the Best High School Newscast award for its work in 2016-2017.

In addition, the SNL class won in:

• Arts and Entertainment/Cultural Affairs for the story “Embracing Individuality,” produced by Ally Kelling, Madison Snodgrass, Erica Dovin, and Dominic Zappa.

• Short Form Non-Fiction for the story “Honoring Trooper Velez,” produced by Michael Rakar, Kate Anderson, Emery Hicks, Reed Dobo, Dominic Zappa, and Meredith Funerburg.

• Public Affairs/Community Service for the story “Heroin: Lorain County’s Epidemic,” produced by Jacob Kelley, Michael Rakar, Ben Zahorec, and Reed Dobo.

• Best Commercial for “Comet Corner Cart and Cafe,” produced by Kate Anderson and Dominic Zappa.

Students in this competition attend schools from northwestern Pennsylvania, all across the northern half of Ohio, and most of Indiana. There were eight categories to enter this year and SNL won five.

This brings the grand total to 51 Regional Student Awards and three National Student Awards since the competition began in 2003.

Steele students can take television production as an elective for a grade. Upperclassmen create the daily SNL broadcast, which delivers announcements, sports highlights, and features to televisions throughout the school.

Staff Report